Saturday, 28 May 2016

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Final



1. Virat Kohli needs 81 runs to become the first player to score 1000 runs in an IPL season.
2. Yuzvendra Chahal and Shane Watson are tied at 20 wickets apiece. This is the highest tally of wickets the Challengers have taken in an IPL tournament.
3. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers have 8 ‘Man of the match’ awards between them. The only other instance where an RCB player has won the man of the match was Shane Watson against the Kings XI Punjab where the Challengers clinched a 1-run win.
4. David Warner has 779 runs in this edition of the IPL and is the second highest run-getter behind Virat Kohli. Bhuvneshwar Kumar received the purple cap after surpassing Shane Watson and Yuzvendra Chahal and now has 23 wickets to his name.
5. This is the first time Yuvraj Singh will be playing an IPL final.

Head to Head
The head to head between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Sunrisers Hyderabad is split down the centre; the two teams have so far met on eight occasions, and both teams have won four matches apiece. The story is no different in contests between the two teams this season; RCB defeated SRH by 45 runs in their season opener, while SRH returned the favour, winning their home fixture by 15 runs in Hyderabad.In matches in Bengaluru though, RCB have been dominant, having defeated SRH thrice in four outings.

Virat Kohli is two sixes short of hitting 200 sixes in T20 cricket. He had a sixes-per-inning ratio of 0.99 before this season; in VIVO IPL 2016, he is the highest six-hitter with 36 sixes and has a ratio of 2.40 sixes per match.

Royal Challengers Bangalore have the highest boundary percentage of all batting sides in VIVO IPL 2016 – 60.63%. Sunrisers Hyderabad meanwhile have the lowest boundary percentage among all bowling sides – 52.44%. 

VIVO IPL 2016 has been the most batsmen-friendly season ever; the average runs per wicket this season stood at an all-time high of 28.34. In terms of overall scoring rate too, this season’s overall scoring rate of 8.28 is third overall.

RCB’s economy rate in the first seven matches in VIVO IPL 2016 stood at 9.44. In the next 8 matches, their economy rate was a much-improved 8.07.

David Warner has scored half-centuries in each of his last six matches against RCB; his scores read 61, 59, 57, 52*, 58 & 92. His strike-rate in these six innings reads 165.50.

What Next 

The winner of this contest will be crowned VIVO IPL 2016 champions; they will take home the IPL trophy as well as the winner’s purse of INR 15.0 Crore. The losers meanwhile will have to be content with the tag of being runner-up and purse of INR 10.0 Crore.


Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, Shane Watson, KL Rahul (wicketkeeper), Sachin Baby, Varun Aaron, Abu Nechim, Sreenath Aravind, Stuart Binny, Yuzvendra Chahal, Travis Head, Iqbal Abdullah, Kedar Jadhav, Chris Jordan, David Wiese, Akshay Karnewar, Sarfaraz Khan, Vikramjeet Malik, Mandeep Singh, Parveez Rasool, Harshal Patel, Kane Richardson, Tabraiz Shamshi, Vikas Tokas, Praveen Dubey. 

Sunrisers Hyderabad: David Warner (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Yuvraj Singh, Moises Henriques, Eoin Morgan, Deepak Hooda, Naman Ojha (wicketkeeper), Karn Sharma, Mustafizur Rahman, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Barinder Sran, Trent Boult, Ben Cutting, Kane Williamson, Ashish Reddy, Ricky Bhui, Bipul Sharma, Siddarth Kaul, Abhimanyu Mithun, Vijay Shankar, T Suman, Aditya Tare. 

Match starts at 8 PM IST

Related Posts

Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Sunrisers Hyderabad, Final
4/ 5